Contradicting Marina Abramovic

“Marina Abramović  (born November 30, 1946 in Belgrade, Serbia) is a New York-based Serbian performance artist who began her career in the early 1970s. Active for over three decades, she has recently begun to describe herself as the “grandmother of performance art.” Abramović’s work explores the relationship between performer and audience, the limits of the body, and the possibilities of the mind. ” (src: Wikipedia.com)

Image

I worship this lady so much because of her dedication to her craft and because she’s probably one of the pioneers (if not the number 1 pioneer) of contemporary arts.

With this obsession, I started studying her work and watching documentaries about her.

I learned a lot about her early life as a daughter of partisan parents and how she longed for the love of a mother that she got from her grandmother.

She also had a remarkable romantic relationship with another artist named Ulay, who shared the same dedication and fire that she has when it comes to her craft.

Their love story ended in a very romantic yet poignant conclusion as they finished the walk towards the center of the Great Wall of China, this final piece that they shared together is also known as “the lovers.”

While studying her life and her accomplishments, I stumbled upon a few of her lectures on the rules she vowed to follow as an artist; one of which is “Thou shall not fall in love with another artist”.

To be honest, I was outraged when I heard these words slip out of her mouth. Her best performances happened when she was with Ulay, so how does falling in love with another artist serve as a hindrance to one’s growth when it comes to the arts?

I’m a songwriter and music is my number 1 love. If I had not experienced all of those relationships (that failed) in the past, what then would be the core of my craft? (when ‘love’ is my field of specialization when it comes to writing music?)

I wanted to contradict what she said with every fiber of my being… but then again, maybe she’s right.

I write songs and I would never ever trade music for anything else in this whole planet. And if my lover (let’s pretend I have one right now) pulls me away from my true love which is music then, yes, maybe it’s wrong to fall in love…

but with an artist like myself?

Shouldn’t it be a little more convenient on both of our parts if we’re both artists? I mean, we share the same passion for the arts, so what’s wrong with that?

Maybe, it’s because you share so much similarities… and those similarities could turn vicious and jealous and lethal to your relationship.

My art represents the darkest corners of my heart and so if things go wrong (let’s say in my present *non existent* relationship) then of course, all of the hatred and regret and resentment would surface on my craft… and arts in not about destruction.

For something to be categorized as an art it must be beautiful thus, revenge and resentment does not count as a form of art…

Where am I trying to get you at?

If both of you are artists and you use your craft as your exhaust then if your relationship fails then the product of your hearts will mirror nothing but hatred for one another, resulting to the failure of both of your crafts and maybe this is the reason as to why Marina Abramovic claims that love between 2 artists must be avoided at all costs.

Leave a Reply

