If You Miss Me

“I miss you more than I thought…” You texted me out of the blue.

Unaware, caught off guard, startled and shocked… you knocked me off of my feet… you always do Where are you trying to get me at? Is this some sort of a pull back, to play the paused where we left of? What do you mean by “missing me”?

To dissect your very short message is a painful one. Having said that you miss me more than you thought implies that you never wished to keep me; that you never wanted to stay. What do you mean by “I miss you”? Is that some sort of a twisted pull back, a test, to see if I would come running in to you like a scared little girl wanting your arms sewn on to my skin? Is that some sort of a confession that you worded vaguely, for you cannot resign yourself to the words of “I love you, please come back”? Is that nothing but a mere report of what your life is like without me whispering good morning every time you open your eyes? And goodnight, just before you slide in to your sweet slumber?

What do you mean by “I miss you”?

Am I supposed to say “I miss you too”? What if I don’t? Will it make you incredibly blue if I don’t feel the same way? Will it make you feel better if I just pretend like I never received your text? Will you love me if I pull you back in to my ribs and keep you there despite the fact that you just left without a word? When people die and turn in to spirits, aren’t they supposed to remain that way?

If you miss me so much, then come back, because in my mind you have already died. If you miss me so much, tell me everyday how much you do and how much of who you are I’d be having in my life. If you miss me so much, tell me that you’ll never leave again. If you miss me so much, find me and take me home. If you miss me so much, love me and never let me go. Ah, all of these are pointless to further enumerate. For all you can say is that you miss me, that’s all..

That’s all…

That’s all.

Leave a Reply

